Poetry Sydney is an independent literary organisation committed to a presence for poetry in our culture.

The Australian Poetry Publishers directory is a portal for poets to have their poems published, to encourage Australian poetry to be purchased and to support Australian Poetry Publishers in enabling poets to have the opportunity to be published. Publishers on this list are those who publish poetry within Australia.

Black Inc (no unsolicited submissions currently) www.blackincbooks.com.au

*Black Pepper (no unsolicited submissions currently) http://blackpepperpublishing.com/

*Brandl & Schlesinger (no unsolicited submissions currently) https://www.brandl.com.au/

*Busybird (only with self-published authors) https://www.busybird.com.au/

Collective Effort Press Facebook (no unsolicited submissions currently)

*Cordite Books (no unsolicited unsolicited submissions currently) https://corditebooks.org.au/

Dangerously Poetic   (no unsolicited submissions currently) Byron based. dangerouslypoetic.com

Flying Islands (no unsolicited submissions currently) https://flyingislandspocketpoets.com.au/

Fremantle Press WA
(open for unsolicited manuscripts from new and emerging Western Australian poets) Please note that while they are open to considering work from established writers, their focus at this time is on the work of new and emerging poets.  https://www.fremantlepress.com.au/  

Friendly Street (open for submissions from members and residents of South Australia) friendlystreetpoets.org.au

Ginninderra Press (open for unsolicited submissions) www.ginninderrapress.com.au/

Giramondo Publishing  (open for unsolicited during specified periods) https://giramondopublishing.com

*Gloria SMH  (no unsolicited submissions currently) http://gloriasmh.com/

*Grand Parade Poets (no unsolicited submissions currently) http://grandparadepoets.com/

*Hunter Publishers (no unsolicited submissions currently) hunterpublishers.com.au  

Interactive Publications (open for unsolicited submissions)Valuable contributor to Australian poetry, but check terms advised. Reading fee. http://www.ipoz.biz/interactive-press/

Light Trap Press (no unsolicited submissions currently, but check for open submissions in September) http://www.light-trap.net/

Lightning Source  not a publisher, printing and distribution for self-publish. www.ingramspark.com

*Magabala Books (an Indigenous publishing house. Publishing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander poets – open unsolicited submissions) https://www.magabala.com

Melbourne Poets Union (MPU) Chapbooks (competition based selection for chapbooks) Several open periods during year. https://www.melbournepoetsunion.com

*Pitt Street Poetry (no unsolicited submissions currently) https://pittstreetpoetry.com/

*Press Press (open for unsolicited submissions for chapbooks) http://www.presspress.com.au/

*Publicious (not a publisher, but operates as a printing service for self-publishing) http://www.publicious.com.au/

*Puncher & Wattmann (no unsolicited submissions currently) puncherandwattmann.com

Recent Work Press (open for unsolicited submissions in June) https://recentworkpress.com/

* Rochford Press (no unsolicited submissions currently)  https://rochfordstreetreview.com/

Spinifex (a feminist publisher, open for unsolicited submissions) https://spinifexpress.com.au

*Studio Christians writing (open for unsolicited submissions) email: studio00@bigpond.net.au 

*Sunline Press (no unsolicited submissions currently) Western Australia based. http://sunlinepress.com.au/

University Queensland Press (UQP) (no unsolicited submissions) Only accepting poets with an agent or solicited submissions. https://www.uqp.uq.edu.au/

Upswell Publishing (open to unsolicited submissions in a quarterly pitch) http://upswellpublishing.com/home/about

* Vagabond Press (no unsolicited submissions currently) https://vagabondpress.net/

Wakefield Press (no unsolicited submissions currently) South Australian based. https://www.wakefieldpress.com.au/

Walleah Press (no unsolicited submissions currently) Mostly Tasmanian. https://walleahpress.com.au/

* Wild Weeds Press (not a publisher, but operates as a printing service for self-publishing)Western Australia based. https://www.wildweedspress.org/

This Australian Publishers directory was compiled by Les Wicks for Poetry Sydney, December 2021. All reasonable efforts were taken to ensure information is accurate.  We welcome information that assists in maintaining the directory. We urge you to look at the array of links, and encourage you to buy some great Australian poetry.  Inquiries should be addressed to the publisher.

Listings marked with * did not respond to our queries and those publishers marked had information gleaned from their website.