Poetry Sydney is an independent literary organisation committed to a presence for poetry in our culture.

The Australian Poetry Publishers directory is a portal for poets to have their poems published, to encourage Australian poetry to be purchased and to support Australian Poetry Publishers in enabling poets to have the opportunity to be published. Publishers on this list are those who publish poetry within Australia.

*Black Pepper (no submissions currently) http://blackpepperpublishing.com/

*Brandl & Schlesinger (no unsolicited submissions currently) https://www.brandl.com.au/

*Busybird (only with self-published authors) https://www.busybird.com.au/

Collective Effort Press Facebook (no unsolicited submissions currently)

*Cordite Books (no unsolicited unsolicited submissions currently) https://corditebooks.org.au/

*Dangerously Poetic   (no unsolicited submissions currently) Byron based. dangerouslypoetic.com

Dragonfly Publishing (no unsolicited submissions currently) https://www.dragonflypublishing.com.au/

*Flying Islands (no submissions currently – manuscript competition for first time book submissions) https://flyingislandspocketpoets.com.au/

*Fremantle Press WA
(open for unsolicited manuscripts from new and emerging Western Australian poets) Please note that while they are open to considering work from established writers, their focus at this time is on the work of new and emerging poets.  https://www.fremantlepress.com.au/  

Friendly Street (open for submissions from members and residents of South Australia) friendlystreetpoets.org.au

Ginninderra Press (open for unsolicited submissions) www.ginninderrapress.com.au/

*Giramondo Publishing  (open for unsolicited during specified periods) https://giramondopublishing.com

*Gloria SMH  (no submissions currently) http://gloriasmh.com/

*Grand Parade Poets (no unsolicited submissions currently) http://grandparadepoets.com/

*Hunter Publishers (no unsolicited submissions currently) hunterpublishers.com.au  

*Ingram Spark (not a publisher, printing and distribution service) www.ingramspark.com 

Interactive Publications (open for unsolicited submissions) Valuable contributor to Australian poetry, but check terms advised. Reading fee. http://www.ipoz.biz/interactive-press/

Light Trap Press (no unsolicited submissions currently) http://www.light-trap.net/ | Also publishes an online poetry journal – submissions open 1 September – 30 November

*Magabala Books (an Indigenous publishing house. Publishing Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander poets – open unsolicited submissions) https://www.magabala.com

Melbourne Poets Union (MPU) Chapbooks (competition based selection for chapbooks) Several open periods during year. https://www.melbournepoetsunion.com

*No More Poetry (open for unsolicited submissions) https://www.nomorepoetry.art/

*Pitt Street Poetry (no unsolicited submissions currently) https://pittstreetpoetry.com/

*Press Press (open for unsolicited submissions for chapbooks) http://www.presspress.com.au/

*Publicious (not a publisher, but operates as a printing service for self-publishing) http://www.publicious.com.au/

*Puncher & Wattmann (open for unsolicited submissions 15 November – 15 December) puncherandwattmann.com

Recent Work Press (open for unsolicited submissions in June) https://recentworkpress.com/

* Rochford Press (no unsolicited submissions currently)  https://rochfordstreetreview.com/

Spinifex (a feminist publisher, open for unsolicited submissions) https://spinifexpress.com.au

*Studio Christians writing (open for unsolicited submissions) email: studio00@bigpond.net.au 

Subbed In (no unsolicited submissions) www.subbed.in

*Sunline Press (no unsolicited submissions currently) Western Australia based. http://sunlinepress.com.au/

*University Queensland Press (UQP) (no unsolicited submissions) Only accepting poets with an agent or solicited submissions. https://www.uqp.uq.edu.au/

Upswell Publishing (open to unsolicited submissions in a quarterly pitch) http://upswellpublishing.com/home/about

Vagabond Press (Annual open calls for submissions) https://vagabondpress.net/

Verity La (no submissions currently) https://verityla.com/

Wakefield Press (submissions open for complete collections) South Australian based. https://www.wakefieldpress.com.au/

This Australian Publishers directory was compiled by Les Wicks for Poetry Sydney, December 2022. All reasonable efforts were taken to ensure information is accurate.  We welcome information that assists in maintaining the directory. We urge you to look at the array of links, and encourage you to buy some great Australian poetry.  Inquiries should be addressed to the publisher.

Listings marked with * did not respond to our queries and those publishers marked had information gleaned from their website.